
VILLAGE OF VIRGINIA GARDENS 
6498 N.W. 38th TERRACE 

VIRGINIA GARDENS, FLORIDA 33166 

TELEPHONE: (305) 871­6104 

Instructions:  You must complete and return this cover sheet together with the completed 
Building Permit application and all other applicable forms prior to issuance 
of a permit.  The Homeowner keeps the warning and commencement notices. 

I hereby certify that I, ________________________________ am the owner of the property 

located at _______________________________________________Virginia Gardens, Florida 

and acknowledge receipt of the following: 

1)  Florida=s Construction Lien Law AWarning to Owner@ 
2)  Building Permit Application (2 pages) 
3)  2 copies of the Notice of Commencement form 
4)  A copy of the permit processing procedure 
5)  Instructions to owner­builder 

The Notice of Commencement must be filed with the Clerk of the Courts, if the cost of the 
job exceeds $2,500.00. 

The Notice of Commencement may be mailed or delivered, along with an $8.00 recording fee to: 

Dade County Recorder 
22 N.W. 1 st Street,1st Floor 
Miami, Florida   33130 
Phone (305) 270­1155 

____________________________ 
Homeowner=s Signature 

Sworn to and subscribed before me 
This _______day of ________20___ 

_____________________________ 
Notary Public 

My Commission expires:



WARNING TO OWNER 

Florida=s  Construction  Lien  Law  (Chapter  713,  part  one,  Florida  Statutes)  requires  an  owner 
having improvements to real property made greater than $2,500.00 in value to record a Notice of 
Commencement  with  the  Clerk  of  the  Courts.  Under  Florida=s  law,  those  who  work  on  your 
property or provide materials and are  not paid have a  right  to enforce  their claim  for payment 
against your property. This claim is known as a construction lien. 

YOU MUST FILE A NOTICE OF COMMENCEMENT 
For your protection under the Construction Lien Law and to avoid the possibility of paying twice 
for improvements to real property, the owner or authorized agent (lender or attorney) shall record 
a Notice of Commencement in the Clerk of the Courts of the Court=s office and post a certified 
copy of the recorded document at the construction site. The Notice of Commencement must be 
signed by the owner contacting the improvements and not an agent. 
The Notice of Commencement must substantially contain the information shown on the attached 
form and be recorded within 90 days before starting the work. 
A  copy of  a  payment  bond given  by  the  contractor must  be  attached  as  part  of  the Notice  to 
Commencement when recorded. 
If improvements described in the Notice of Commencement are not actually commenced within 
90  days  after  its  recording,  the Notice  is  void  and  a  new Notice  of  Commencement  must  be 
recorded and posted. 
The owner  loses the proper payment defense under the Construction Lien Law if payments are 
made after the expiration of the Notice of Commencement, which is one year after the recording 
date or the later expiration date otherwise specified in the Notice of Commencement. 
Florida law requires the building department to be a second source of information concerning the 
improvements  made  on  real  property.  Attached  is  a  copy  of  our  permit  application  which 
requires  information  on  the  construction  lender  and  contractor=s  surety  if  any. The  application 
also  requires  the  signature  of  the  property  owner.  This  is  to  help  inform  owners  of  the 
Construction Lien Law. 

YOU MUST POST THE NOTICE OF COMMENCEMENT AT THE JOB SITE 
By law, the Building and Zoning Department  is required to verify at the first  inspection, which 
occurs 7 days after the building permit  is  issued, that a certified copy of the recorded Notice of 
Commencement, with  attached  bonds  if  required,  is  posted  at  the  construction  site.  Failure  to 
post the Notice will result in a disapproved inspection (F.S. 713.135(1)(d)). 

NOTICE TO OWNER FROM SUBCONTRACTORS AND SUPPLIERS 
Owners may  receive Notice  to Owner  from  subcontractors  and material  suppliers. This  notice 
advises the owner that the sender is providing services or materials and that a written release of 
lien must be obtained from the sender before paying the contractor. 
Subcontractors and suppliers must serve a Notice to Owner within 45 days of commencing work 
to preserve their ability to lien you property. 
Any subcontractor or supplier not serving the owner with a Notice to Owner within 45 days of 
commencing work is not entitled to construction lien. If the address for the owner changes from 
that given  in  the Notice of Commencement,  the owner  should  record an amendment Notice of 
Commencement reflecting the proper current address of the owner.



VILLAGE OF VIRGINIA GARDENS 
6498 N.W. 38th TERRACE 

VIRGINIA GARDENS, FLORIDA 33166 

TELEPHONE: (305) 871­6104 

I, ___________________________________, hereby certify 

that the addition or alteration to my residence will not be 

used for rental purposes. 

Building Permit No. ___________      Date _______________ 

_____________________________________ 
Signature 

_____________________________________ 
Address 

______________________________________ 
Notary Public



INSTRUCTION TO OWNER­ BUILDER 

You  have  this  date made  application  for  a  building  permit  as  an  owner­builder.  You  should  be  advised  of  the 
following provisions and requirements that apply to owner­builders: 

Proof of Ownership ­ Prior to a building permit being issued to you, you must submit proof of ownership 
of the land concerned in the application in the form of a recorded deed, showing you own the property, or a 
copy of mortgage or warranty deed of the land, showing you are obligated to purchase the property, or a 
Dade County tax receipt, statement to contain legal description of property and indicate property is in your 
name. Legal description and name on document of proof must correspond to the name and legal description 
on the application. 

Responsibility  ­ You will be  responsible  for all work done by  your day  labor employees, and you must 
either employ licensed contractors or persons to be paid on an hourly or per diem basis. Any one 
contracting (including labor) with you, verbally or in writing, on a fixed fee basis for any work, who is not 
properly licensed, will be subject to a fine of  $500.00 and/or imprisonment for six months. 

Insurance  ­ You  should  be  advised  that  if  your  day labors  employees  cause  any  damage  to  persons  or 
property, of if any of your day labor employees are injured on the job, you are liable. Your regular home 
insurance policy  ordinarily does not cover this type of liability. 

Withholding Taxes, etc. ­ You should be advised to investigate your responsibility for withholding Social 
Security, Federal and State Unemployment Insurance Taxes and Federal Income Taxes from the wages of 
employees  working  for  you  on  the  proposed  construction,  and  for making  returns  thereof  to  the  proper 
agencies. 

Work  Permitted  Owner­Builder  ­  An  owner­builder,  subject  to  the  following  provisions  and 
requirements, is limited to constructing one single family or duplex residence each year for his own use and 
occupancy; or maintaining, altering or repairing his own single  family  or duplex residence; or erecting a 
one story  building of not more than 500 square feet for commercial or industrial use, or adding a first floor 
addition of not more than 500 square feet to commercial or industrial building; or maintenance or repairs 
and non­structural alterations, not exceed $5,000.00 on any building which he owns or leases. 

If you do not intend to do the work involved yourself, or with day labor, please list below, the name of the 
individual or firm with whom you have entered (or will enter) into a contract for the work. 

NOTICE: SEPARATE PERMITS REQUIRED FOR ELECTRICAL, PLUMBING, ROOFING 
AND MECHANICAL WORK 

____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
Name of Individual or Firm  Address 

I, the owner of property described as _______________________________________________________________ 

___________________________________________________________ do hereby certify  that I have read the 

foregoing instructions, and am aware of my responsibilities and liabilities under my application for a building permit 
for 

construction work on the above described property. 

_______________________________________  _______________________________________ 
Witness  Owner 

Date___________________________________  Date ___________________________________



NOTICE OF COMMENCEMENT 

PERMIT NO. ____________________  TAX FOLIO NO. __________________________ 

STATE OF FLORIDA: 
COUNTY OF DATE: 

THE UNDERSIGNED hereby gives notice that improvements will be made to certain real property, and in 
accordance with Chapter 713, Florida Statutes, the following information is provided in this Notice of 
Commencement. 

1. Legal description of property and street address: 

2. Description of improvement: 

3. Owner(s) name and address: 

Interest in property: 
Name and address of fee simple title holder: 

4. Contractor=s name and address: 

5. Surety: (Payment bond required by owner from contractor, if any) 
Name and address: 
Amount of bond $ 

6. Lender=s name and address: 

7. Persons within the State of Florida designated by Owner upon whom notices or other documents may be served as 
provided by Section 713.13(1)(a)7., Florida Statues, 
Name and address: 

8. In addition to himself, Owner designates the following person(s) to receive a copy of the Lienor=s Notice as 
provided in Section 713.13(1)(b), Florida Statues. 
Name and address: 

9. Expiration date of this Notice of Commencement: (the expiration date is 1 year from the date of recording unless 
a different date is specified) 

_____________________________________ 
Signature of Owner 

Print Owners Name ____________________________  Prepared by: 

Sworn to and subscribed before me this _____day of _______, 20  .  Address: 

Notary Public 

Print Notary=s Name 

My Commission Expires:



VILLAGE OF VIRGINIA GARDENS 
6498 N.W. 38th TERRACE 

VIRGINIA GARDENS, FLORIDA 33166 
TELEPHONE: (305) 871­6104 

PERMIT NO.: 
Date Issued: 
Receipt No.: 

BUILDING PERMIT APPLICATION 

Owner=s Name:  Tax Folio No. 
Owner=s Address: 
Fee Simple Titleholder=s Name (if other than owner) 
Fee Simple Titleholder=s Address (if other than owner) 
City  Home Phone No.  Cell Phone No. 
State  Zip  Business phone No. 

Contractor=s Name:  State Cert. # 
Contractor=s Address:  Cert. of Comp.# 
City___________________________Business Phone No. 
State  Zip  Cell Phone No. 

Bonding Company 
Bonding Company Address 
City  State  Zip 

Architect/Engineer=s Name 
Architect/Engineer=s Address 
Mortgage Lender=s Name 
Mortgage Lender=s Address 

Application is hereby made to obtain a permit to do the work and installation as indicated. I certify 
that no work or installation has commenced prior to the issuance of a permit and that all work will 
be performed to meet the standards of all laws regulating construction in this jurisdiction. I 
understand that a separate permit must be secured for ELECTRICAL WORK, PLUMBING, SIGNS, 
WELLS, POOLS, FURNACES, BOILERS, HEATERS, TANKS, AIR CONDITIONING, etc. 

OWNER=S AFFIDAVIT:  I certify that all the foregoing information is accurate and that all work 
will be done in compliance with all applicable laws regulating 
construction and zoning. 

WARNING TO OWNER: YOUR FAILURE TO RECORD A NOTICE OF COMMENCEMENT 
MAY RESULT IN YOUR PAYING TWICE FOR IMPROVEMENTS 
TO YOUR PROPERTY. IF YOU INTEND TO OBTAIN FINANCING, 
CONSULT WITH YOUR LENDER OR AN ATTORNEY BEFORE 
RECORDING YOUR NOTICE OF COMMENCEMENT. 

Signature:  Signature: 
Owner or Agent  Contractor 
(including contractor) 
Date  Date 
NOTARY as  NOTARY as 
to Owner or Agent  to Contractor 
My Commission Expires:  My Commission Expires: 
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BUILDING PERMIT APPLICATION 

Owner’s  Name ____________________________________________ Permit No. __________________________ 

TWO SETS OF PLANS & SPECIFICATIONS MUST ACCOMPANY THIS APPLICATION 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Square or 
Category  Lineal Feet  Number  Est. Cost.  Fee 

New Building – 01 Comm. 
02 Res. 

Addition 
Alteration/Repair 
Windows/Glass 
Shutters 
Doors 
Concrete Slab 
Paving 
Roofing 
Fences/Walls 
Awnings/Canopies 
Swimming Pool 
Other 
Code Compliance Fee 
Radon Surcharge 
TOTAL 

DESCRIPTION OF WORK TO BE PERFORMED: 

­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­ 

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY 

Comments: 

Approvals: 

Planning & Zoning:  Date: 
Electrical  Date: 
Engineer  Date: 
Mechanical  Date: 
Plumbing  Date: 
Public Works  Date: 
Building  Date: 
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BUILDING PERMITS 

All applicable items must be taken care of before permit is issued!!!! 
Inspectors must approve Electrical, Plumbing and Mechanical homeowner permits! 
Work on commercial building must be done by a licensed contractor! 

1.  Completed application 
Copy of Survey (MUST NOT BE OVER ONE YEAR OLD) 
2 sets of plans (signed & sealed by a Florida Reg. Architect or Engineer 
Dade County Product Approval Information 
Copy of Contractor’s Licenses 
Proof of Insurance, including Worker’s Compensation 

(Plans must show the location of the septic tank, drain field, electric meter and pole 
location ­ existing and new) 

2.  D.E.R.M. Approval: (305)372­6789 
a.  New commercial buildings and apartment buildings 
b.  New single family homes 
c.  Additions to commercial buildings, changing square footage or use 

3.  HRS Approval: 1725 N.W. 167 Street ­ (305)623­3500 
a.  Adding a bedroom addition 
b.  Installation or repair of any on­site sewage disposal 
c.  Any permit that may affect the septic tank or drain field 

4.  Florida Dept. Of Business & Professional Regulation: (305)470­5680 
8405 N.W. 53 Street, #B220 (3 sets of plans & $75.00 plan review fee) 
(All  food  service  operations,  apartments,  motels/hotels,  rooming  houses  require 
review, permitting and inspection) 

5.  Planning & Zoning Board approval 

6.  Village Engineer and Inspectors approval ( if applicable) 
Plumbing ­ Electrical ­ Mechanical ­ Building 

7.  Beautification approval (Commercial only) 

8.  Fire Department approval (Commercial only) 
Metro Center ­ 111 N.W. First Street, 10th Floor 
8:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. ­ (305)375­2771 

9.  Road Impact Fee and Fire & Rescue Impact Fee 
(Applicant  takes  processed  plans  and  application  to  Dade  County  Public 
Works) 
11805 SW 26 Street, Miami, Fl 
(786)315­2670 

No WATER or SEWER SERVICE to be rendered to a new user without proof of payment 
to Dade County of CONNECTION CHARGES (commercial and residential)


